Why is There a Part Three?When I ended Part Two the Germans had declared victory after wiping out one of the American tank platoons, but after discussing with the author how I totally blew the anti-tank fire and how to determine when the game ends, I decided to continue the game. Note that the point one Sherman had a hit and now that has been resolved, resulting in a suppression.
|Sherman is suppressed|
Turn 7The Americans draw two more chits for a whopping 5, bringing the total to 18. (The new Break Point for both armies is 30, so the game is not over and the Germans have not won.)
I finally rolled a turn in which the initiative rolls were the same, so that causes a reset of the Hero dice. The Germans get a '6' and the Americans get a '4'.
There is still a glitch in the rules that says if you tie in orders the high roller goes first. There is no "high roller" on a tie and the result would be 0 orders for both. This seems like an artifact from a different version of the rule, but I rule that the process is to re-roll Hero die, reset 'count up' die, and neither side allowed to issue orders unless they use Hero points (neither side does). This is bad as the Americans keep drawing chits while the objectives are lost.
Turn 8With two objectives in the hands of the Germans, the Americans again have to pull two chits (0 and 1), raising their total to 19.
The Germans get two orders and the Americans one.
The Germans still have a suppressed grenadier platoon leader, one undeployed on-board unit and company commander, and two infantry platoons off-board. The Germans use two orders (using Hero points) to get one of the two off-board platoons available for coming on Turn 9 as reinforcements.
|Another German platoon is ready to march on using the east road|
|Americans hit hard by the grenadiers|
|Germans will likely have the entire platoon suppressed by that fire|
|Moving so fast the photographer had a hard time taking the shot|
Turn 9With two objectives in the hands of the Germans, the Americans again have to pull two chits 3 and 0), raising their total to 22.
The Americans and Germans each get one order, with the Americans having initiative (they rolled higher).
The armored infantry continue to pour on the fire into the grenadier platoon. Three of the American rifle teams rally first. Repeating the same fire as last time, they score five hits, putting a second hit on each team save the platoon leader.
|The Germans are getting crushed under the weight of fire|
|All but one team suppressed|
Turn 10With two objectives in the hands of the Germans, the Americans again have to pull two chits (2 and 2), raising their total to 26.
The Americans get four orders and the Germans one. This is just what the Americans need if they want to stay in the game.
The FO is issued an order to Observe. (I am not sure if that is really a Fire order or this is just another order type that needs to be listed in the Orders section of the rules.) If the FO does not move or fire for the remainder of the turn, next turn it can call down the barrage. (I need to try that in this game, if only for testing purposes.)
The armored infantry are ordered to advance in preparation for assaulting the grenadiers. The last of the teams shrug off their suppression. They roll 4" for their move.
|The American assault begins!|
|Ambush by the HMG nests|
Now here is an interesting situation. As the Americans have a new order, they can rally if they have no hits. Because you resolve hits immediately when caught in the open, essentially you can immediately attempt to rally.The rifle does not rally. The armored infantry rolls 3" for their move and the half-tracks 8".
The author indicated that you can opportunity fire not just to units moving into view, but to all units moving in view.The Germans spend a Hero point to again fire the HMGs. Three hits with one bazooka team being killed and one bazooka team and one rifle team being suppressed. Unfortunately, at the end of the turn the armored infantry are going to have to check morale, as they have now lost their fourth team.
|The Americans desperately try to get out of the Kill Zone|
- The Americans pass their quality check, so they head into assault.
- All that can make contact do so.
- No assault units fire.
- Defensive fire from HMGs and single rifle team in grenadier platoon results in three hits. That suppresses three rifle teams, one of which was in contact.
- The Americans have six unsuppressed teams for close combat, the Germans one. The Americans scot four hits, the German one.
- Casualties are removed.
- The Americans have five unsuppressed teams remaining, the Germans one. The Americans win the assault.
- The Germans retreat to the house across the street and to safety.
|The Americans win the assault, but at what cost?|
Because each side has to take a platoon morale check, each has to pull a chit. The Americans pull 2 raising their total to 28, while the Germans pull a 0 chit. The Americans roll morale and ... fail! So do the Germans! The Americans again draw a chit (for failing the morale check), drawing a 2, finally meeting their Break Point of 30. (To rub it in the Germans pulled another 0.)
Interesting question: given that failing a morale check results in the unit being destroyed, does the side draw another two chits? I think not, as I believe that situation is for a unit that is wiped out by means other than morale. It should probably say that though.