My blog about my wargaming activities. I collect a lot of 15mm miniatures for the American War of Independence and so collect a lot of rules for this period. I started miniatures with Napoleonics, so I have a number of armies in 6mm and 15mm figures for skirmishing. I have15mm WW II figures that I use for Flames of War, Memoir '44, and someday, Poor Bloody Infantry. Finally there is my on-again, off-again relationship with paper soldiers that I sometimes write about.

Saturday, August 13, 2011

More '61-'65 Q&A

There have been a few questions answered on the Yahoo forum for the Ganesha Games rules Sixty-One Sixty-Five ('61-'65) and as I posted mine here previously, I thought I would add the others.

1. Page 3. Organization. Second paragraph. "Each Regiment comprised 10 Companies identified with letters from A to K."

Q: A to K is 11 Companies. Should this read: A to J?

A: Although there were Company J's in some ACW regiments, there were generally not, by tradition. J was intentionally skipped because of its similarity to I when hand-written. Or so the story goes... Ain’t No Company “J” in This Man’s Army

2. Page 14. Skirmishers. First paragraph. "Skirmishers always operate in pairs and must always be 1S from one another. "

Q: Do Skirmishers always have to be exactly 1S from one another or do they operate within 1S from one another?

A: "Within" 1S is the correct interpretation.

3. Page 17. Rout of a Squad. Third and Fourth paragraphs. "Routed soldiers remain in that position until:
1) other soldiers join them after other routs, bringing their number to 4 or more; or

2) the Captain spends one action within 1L to reform a Squad (the Squad
must comprise at least 4 and up to 8 soldiers)."

Q: The word "or" means one or the other, not both. Should this read as "and" and not "or"?

A: Both conditions must apply to rally (reform) a squad.

4. Page 24. Multiplayer Battles.

Q: This whole section makes little sense as written and is difficult to understand. Should it be re-written as:

"'61-'65 can easily be played by multiple players. Four players can command a Platoon each (4 Squads), eight players can command a Section (2 Squads) each. For intermediate numbers of players, each may
command 2-3 Squads.

To determine the order of Activation you may use a deck of playing cards. Remove the Face Cards and Jokers. Each player (he may command a Platoon/Section/ Squad - it depends on the level you are playing) is identified by a card. Remove the unused cards.

The remaining cards are shuffled and then one is drawn: that is the active player.

When all the cards in the deck have been drawn, shuffle them again and draw a card to start a new turn.

If there are many players, an unlucky first dice roll can have you waiting for a long time before you play again and this can be frustrating. To limit this, we use something we call the Giant Rule.

Take something bigger than the miniatures you are playing with (we use a 54mm flag bearer figure): this is the Giant. Add the Queen of Hearts to the deck.

Whenever a player rolls a turnover on his first dice roll of a turn, he gets the Giant. Go on playing as normal, drawing another card.

When the Queen of Hearts is drawn, the player who has the Giant can play as if his card was drawn, and the Giant is put back on the table. If the Queen is drawn and nobody has the Giant, nothing happens.

Put the Giant back on the table also if your normal card is drawn before the Queen of Hearts. Note that if another player gets a turnover on his first dice roll before the Queen is out, the Giant goes to that player.

A: Yes, that is a reasonable version of the section.

5. Page 25. 1861: First Blood. Forces. "CSA Company: 5 Squads at full strength (8), 4 Volunteer Militia, 1 Veteran."

Q: Appendix 1 on page 29 has no listing in the 1861/62 table for a CSA Veteran Squad. What Squad should be used?

A: Insert a line for Veteran in the 1861/62 list that matches the Veteran line in the 1863 chart.

6. Page 27. 1865: Fighting Against Time. Forces. "US Company: 5 Squads at full strength (8): 2 Veteran and 3 Regulars, 1 cavalry Squad (6 mounted)."

Q: Appendix 1 on page 30 has no listing in the 1864-65 table for a USA Regular Squad. What Squad should be used?

A: The USA Volunteers line in the 1864-65 chart can represent the Regulars (both draft and volunteer).

7. Page 28. Appendix 1. Staff Table (Officers and NCOs).

Q: There is no listing for Junior 2nd Lieutenants. When are Junior 2nd Lieutenants used?

A: Having a Green Officer is quite a detriment. A Junior 2nd Lieutenant should only be used when indicated by a scenario.

8. Page 28. Limits. Second Column. First Paragraph. "A Company will therefore have a maximum of 90 figures (10 staff, 64 soldiers, 16 Skirmishers) that counting the 8 corporals included in the Squads gives a total of 98 men."

Q: 10 (Officers and Staff) + 64 (8 Squads) + 16 (Skirmishers for 8 Squads) = 90 Men, not 98, correct?

A: Yes. That is a typographical error.

This page may be updated with corrections, as we are waiting for Sergio to return from vacation and answer some of these definitively.
9. Q: Does every figure in a squad have to be in the Command Range of a Leader to get the Leader Bonus? Last paragraph, bottom left of page 6 - "Therefore a soldier is in command if..."

A: Only one figure in the Squad needs to be in command range of a Leader to receive the Leader Bonus.

10. Q: Does the size of squads in the scenarios include skirmishers, or are they an automatic extra so an 8 strong squad will need 10 figures?

A: No, the size of the squad is excluding skirmishers. Therefore an 8 men squad will need 10 figures.

11. Q: If a squad rolls 2 dice and passes only one of the dice. Can it use that action to reload one of the two required actions needed to reload, then next turn it will only require one more action to reload before firing?

A: No, you need 2 action in the same turn to reload.

12. Q Is declaring actions done after determining number of succeses rolled?

A: There is no need of declaring action before rolling the dice, and you can use the successes get in any way you choose.

13. Q: If a unit needs to fall back due to losing a close combat encounter, does the unit still maintain its current facing?

A: Yes.

14. Q: If a unit needs to fall back due to a Rout because of a failed morale test, does the unit still maintain its current facing?

A: Yes.

15. Q: When return fire is declared the rules say that both sides may encounter losses, however the combat results do not reflect this (only one side can take damage). Perhaps I'm reading this wrong could you explain how this is to be worked out?

A: When shooting, if you return fire, either squads can take losses. If you don't (or you can't) return fire, only the shooter can damage the target, but only if they win the roll.

16. Q: Do NCO's add +2 to close combat?

A: No, only Officers can give the +2 bonus in CC.

17. Q: If a unit is loaded can it Fire at Will at any time during an enemy move, or just to return fire if it is shot at?

A: Only to return fire.

18. Q: Does wheeling – by any amount – take up a full stick of movement, or can it be combined with straight movement (either before or after the wheel)? Put another way, if I get two actions and I wish to wheel 1/2M in distance, then move 1/2M straight does it cost me 1 action or 2? I could see it being either way.

A: Wheeling any amount uses up all your action.

19. Q: How do you treat a unit that has four models, but has 1 or more Shaken models? It seems as the unit still has 4+ models, so it does not Rout, but when shot at Shaken soldiers don't count, so the Squad size is 3 or below.

A: A Squad with 4 models, with 1 Shaken soldier does not rout. It simply counts as having 3 models for shooting (and it is therefore a "Small" squad) and close combat (which is important when calculating the modifier for the number). We wanted to keep it simple in this case and in real terms there is no difference when shooting if you have from 5 down to 1 active models (i.e. not Shaken).

20. Q: Is there any advantage in being in double line? If you are contacted you fight at half strength. Is it better to stay in single line?

A: It allows you to mass firepower at a point in the battle line. You essentially have two squads facing off against the one. Just another little tool in the tactical bag of tricks.

21. Q: When counting figures for morale are the Drummer and Standard Bearer figures with the Captain counted?

A: Yes.

Well, that's all the questions and answers I could find from the Yahoo forum.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Archive

Blog and Forum Pages

Popular Posts


About Me

My photo
Huachuca City, Arizona, United States
I am 50 yrs old now. I bought a house in Huachuca City, AZ (although I have a townhouse in Houston, TX and a small home in Tucson, AZ) working on a contract for "the next two years" that is going on five years now. To while away the hours I like to wargame -- with wooden, lead, and sometimes paper miniatures -- usually solo. Although I am a 'rules junkie', I almost always use rules of my own (I like to build upon others' ideas, but it seems like there is always something "missing" or "wrong").